Ceremonial Conferment of Doctoral Degrees in Technology 2018

The Aalto University schools of technology and Department of Architecture will hold their joint Ceremonial Conferment of Doctoral Degrees on Friday 15 June 2018 at Dipoli.

The Ceremonial Conferment is a festive event that has long-standing traditions at Aalto University. Every student who completed their doctoral degree in technology between 1 July 2016 and 25 May 2018 is invited to participate in the 2018 Ceremonial Conferment. Invitations will be sent out to approximately 400 graduates in all.

The School of Engineering is the school responsible for organising the 2018 Ceremonial Conferment. The previous Ceremonial Conferment in the field of technology was held in October 2016.



The participation fee for the 2018 Ceremonial Conferment is only 50 €. You can submit your preliminary registration and leave your contact details for the official invitation with our online form.


Ceremonial Conferment Committee

A committee was formed for organising the Ceremonial Conferment. The committee’s membership includes the following:

  • Dean Gary Marquis (School of Engineering), chair
  • Professor Ari Koskinen (School of Chemical Engineering)
  • Professor Tapio Lokki (School of Science)
  • Professor Ari Sihvola (School of Electrical Engineering)
  • Development Manager Soile Koukkari (School of Engineering)
  • Project manager Tatu Pohjola (Aalto University Communications Services)

Experts are invited to assist the committee as necessary. Both the conferrer and the masters of ceremonies are invited members of the Ceremonial Conferment Committee.


Conferrer and masters of ceremonies

The conferrer of the 2018 Ceremonial Conferment is Professor Kirsi Virrantaus from the Department of Built Environment. Assistant Professors Jarkko Niiranen and Heidi Salonen have been appointed masters of ceremonies for the Ceremonial Conferment.


Honorary doctorates

The Ceremonial Conferment Committee decides on honorary doctorates conferred at the ceremony based on proposals made by the university leadership and the schools’ deans. Honorary doctorates for the 2018 Ceremonial Conferment will be announced in May 2018.


Page content by: | Last updated: 10.04.2018.